top of page

The Tipsters Challenge

A Little Bit of History . . . . .

Back at the start of the 2012 I started to make suggestions as to who would win our various club competitions. I achieved about 40% accuracy. The Competition Secretary really should be able to do better than that I hear you say. In fact lots of club members did say just that! The Tipsters challenge was born out of this friendly banter.


The challenge was opened to all club members. Half of all entry money received would go the winning 'tipster', the other half would be given to support club funds. In that first 2013 season, there could only be one winner - You are correct it was me!


So we moved on to the 2014 challenge. Sadly my ability to see the future totally deserted me and left the title open for another crystal ball gazer to grab. The man who won both major club titles the Championship Singles and the Championship Pairs was John Fairs, and he made himself an incredible treble winner by taking this prestigious title. 


At the completion of the 2015 Competition, the final leader board read Alan "I'm back" Messer 34, John "I'm Still Here" Fairs 34, Ann "Watch out next time" Paine 25. Who won the money depended on the tie break, which was who had correctly identified the most champions.


This is believed to be the crystal ball Stuart Logan borrowed from Chris to win the now almost World Famous Tipster Award for 2023

Butch Shakespeare romped away with the 'Tipsters' in 2016. John Fairs was second again, and Nick Eager finished in third placeOrder was restored in 2017 as Alan Messer sneaked in with the last bowl to be " Tipster Supremo" once again! In 2018 the entry fee and therefore the prize money was increased. This enticed 16 entrants and of those 16 - the man with his finger on the pulse of bowls for the season was Ted Hood. John Schools after being pipped at the post in 2017, stormed the Tipsters Challenge in 2019.The man with the eagle eye and £45 in his pocket in 2021 was once again Butch Shakespeare


In 2022 a certain amount of sanity appears to back in the world - Top of the ladder is once again Alan Messer, with John Schools in hot pursuit. Alas, alack on the final afternoon of competition the world turned upside down - Alan went from first to third, John was the rotation point in second - but the man leaping from third to first was the 2022 Tipster Guru Chris Ide

2023 with all comps at the semi final stage there can only be one winner.   

and that man was our very own Competition Secretary Stuart Logan who won himself £45

Alan Messer ( Nearly Ace Tipster)


30/04/23: Forms in preparation for 2023

01/06/23: Forms published and Tipsters Challenge is open.

18/06/23: first tables published.

09/08/23: table update

06/09/23: table update

10/09/23: table updated and final result published

Past Winners

2023 Stuart Logan
2022 Chris Ide
2021 Butch Shakespeare
2020 Not Run

2019 John Schools
2018 Ted Hood
2017 Alan Messer
2016 Butch Shakespeare
2015 Alan Messer
2014 John Fairs
2013 Alan Messer

bottom of page