top of page

TARRING PRIORY Club Finals 2018

Sat 8th and Sunday 9th September 2018

Finals Day Green 2018.JPG

A difficult green made for some interesting bowling, but in any competition the same conditions are met by both sides. The weather was kind and the matches were all completed within the allotted schedule. President Derek Ridley was available to present the trophies to our champions and to offer a few words of commiseration and encouragement to our runners up. Umpires of the day were Ted Hood on Saturday, Wally Burrows on Sunday and MC was Stuart Logan our Competition Secretary.

Martin Joyce Singles Winner 2018.jpg


The Gordon Garrett Cup 

Martin Joyce

Martin played against Alan Messer in the final. Alan made the early running on shorter jacks but Martin soon found his length and cruised to an emphatic 21-11 win


Ashbury Cup & Lepherd Cup

Peter Thorpe & John Proffitt

Peter and John played red hot favourites John Fairs and Stuart Shwartz. 

For the first 10 ends, the match could not have been tighter with both teams trading shot for shot. Peter and John somehow managed to find an extra surge in the last five ends and ran out comfortable winners in the end.

The final score was 20-15

Peter Thorpe and John Proffitt Pairs Win


Roome Cup

Derek Meechan

John Fairs was competing in his fourth final of the weekend, but Derek Meechan was far from sympathetic that he had lost in the previous 3, and took just 16 of the allotted 21 ends to win 17-5

Derek Meechan 2 Woods Singles winner 201


Eric Charnock Cup

Stuart Shwartz

Stuart romped through the first set, leaving opponent John Fairs behind in his wake as he powered to a 9-2 win.

John managed to get a little closer in the second set but Stuart still won 5 of 7 ends and clinched the Sets title for 2018 with a second set win 10-6.

Stuart Shwartz Sets Winner 2018.jpg
Mike Meadows Committee Singles Winner 20


Hazleden Cup

Mike Meadows

Mike Meadows would not give up in this one. John Fairs was so close to victory at 13-20, but Mike came back at the end with 2 2's and a 4 to take the Committee Singles title 21-20


Heppenstall Cup

John Schools

Despite going into a mid match lead of 12-9, Mick Meadows could not match the accuracy of John Schools in the later stages of the match.

John won all but 1 of the last 9 ends to record a final score of 21-13

John Schools HC Singles Winner 2018.jpg


The Knight Cup & Chris Wood Cup

Peter Thorpe and Alan Messer

A fight to the finish best describes this game. Roy Bland and Mike Meadows made all the early running but were gradually pegged back and went into the last end 20-20. A good draw bowl by Peter Thorpe was successfully defended and Alan and Peter breathed a big sigh of relief as they crossed the finishing line in front.

A Messer & P Thorpe HC Pairs Winners 201
K Brinsmead R Minton 2 Wood HC Winners 2


The Brian Ford Cup

Keith Brinsmead & Ryan Minton

Alan Messer had to call in an eleventh hour substitute as Butch Shakespeare had to withdraw. 

It was though, an excellent display of lead bowling from Ryan Minton which won the day for himself and Keith by a substantial 23-10 margin


The J D Smith Cup

Tony Webb

Tony Webb JD Smith Winner 2018.jpg

Tony Webb won this trophy in his first year at Tarring Priory. Opponent, Lawrence Pethick almost caught him by overturning a 17-3 deficit to lose by the narrowest of margins 21-20 


The Harold Webster Trophy

Derek Meechan, Alan Messer

Peter Otto

Derek, Alan and Peter were neck and neck with Nick Eager, Mike Meadows and Lawrence Pethick for the first 10 ends with the score at 8 a piece. After that a couple of fours made the margin too great to catch and the match was conceded after 17 ends. Final score 22-12

IMG_0395 (1).jpg


The Platt Cup

David Fairs

David was in control throughout this match. His opponent won the first 4 ends, but once in his stride David reached the 21 shot target in just 20 ends leaving Roy Bland to accept the runner-up trophy this year.

David Fairs Veterans HC Winner 2018.jpg


The Presidents Shield

Dave Elliott, Alan Messer,

Dave Fairs, Mike Meadows

Alan skipped his team to an emphatic win in this popular evening competition

KO 4s Winners.jpeg


The Atkins Cup

Not Played in 2018


The Dave Evans Cup

Nick Eager, Peter Thorpe,

Ray Elliott, Tony Webb

Keith Brinsmead

The league was played over 10 consecutive Monday evenings. Nick Eager's team were in control throughout and won the title by 4 points with a week to spare

Triple League Winners 2018.jpg


Alan Messer

The Aggregate League was a new competition introduced in 2016  to allow more flexibility in the SCB competition rounds during the early part of the season. Alan Messer has now won all 3 stagings of the event

Alan Messer Agg League Winner 2018.jpg
bottom of page