TARRING PRIORY Club Finals 2016

Sat 10th and Sunday 11th September 2016

The forecast for Saturday was terrible, but the weather gods were lenient in their rain allowance for Church Green, at least for some of the time. The Saturday morning sessions were played without interruption, unlike the afternoon which was subject to heavy rain, and the downpour certainly had it's part to play in the outcome of some of the finals. On Sunday there was not a cloud in the sky for the Handicap Singles and Handicap Pairs Finals. Despite the poor Saturday weather the finals were reasonably well attended and Club President Derek Ridley was on hand to present the Trophies to our 2016 Champions and Runners-Up.  



The Gordon Garrett Cup 

Keith Brinsmead

In the rainiest final for many years, Keith Brinsmead was on top for much of the match and eventually beat the 2015 Champion Stuart Shwartz, 21-17. A late flurry of points on shorter jacks was not enough for Stuart to stop Keith reaching the magic 21 shots and winning the 2016 Championship singles title. 


Ashbury Cup & Lepherd Cup

John Fairs & David Levey

Richard Dray came in as a substitute for Ray Roberts who is currently recovering from surgery. Richard must have thought it was going to be his lucky day as he and Mark Simmonds started with a 5 shot first end haul. The difference between the teams though, came later in the game as the weather worsened and Dave Levey and John Fairs got a 7 in one end and turned the game completely around to win 25-17 and win the title for the 3rd time in 4 years.


Roome Cup

Derek Meechan

Derek Meechan retained his Two Woods Singles title. A series of 2 shot ends in the middle of the match gave opponent Ray Lister, too much to catch. The final score was 19-12


Eric Charnock Cup

Stuart Shwartz

Derek Meechan started the game impressively and took the first set 7-1. He then squandered a good chance to take the second set, and after that Stuart Shwartz ruled the green with a series of mat-up-short-jack ends, to take sets 2 and 3 and the match.


Hazleden Cup

Andy Clarke

Emilio DiPietro and Clunky Clarke put on a good spectacle for the few spectators around to watch this morning match. It really could have been either player who won - on this occasion it was the A-Team Manager Clunky who beat the Bar Manager, Emilio.


Heppenstall Cup

Derek Meechan 

Derek Meechan had appeared in 2 previous Handicap Singles finals at Priory without success. Dave Levey could not prevent him being third time lucky. Derek won 21-18


The Knight Cup & Chris Wood Cup

Keith Brinsmead & Colin Kent

Keith Brinsmead and Colin Kent were always in command against Stuart Shwartz and David Bellingham. The match was conceded at 19 ends with the score 25-9.


The Brian Ford Cup

John Proffitt & Ray Lister

A crucial running wood by Ray Lister when John Fairs and partner Dave Elliott were holding 4 was the turning point. Ray carried the Jack through and stayed with it to win the end. The final score was 18-13 to John Proffitt and Ray Lister


The J D Smith Cup

Gus Roberts

Gus Roberts went behind by a big margin in the early part of the game, but regained his form on long jacks on a wet green, to win 21-20. Lawrence Pethick, his opponent has now been the runner up in this competition for the last 3 years.


The Harold Webster Trophy

Jon Clear, Dave Levey

Keith Brinsmead

David, Jon and Keith are all 10 handicap players and therefore had to work hard in all rounds of the competition to overcome the shots difference advantage that their opponents enjoyed. In the final they had to give a 5 start which they only caught in the last few ends, but they are very worthy winners, and are the 2016 champions


The Platt Cup

John Hobbs 

Hammy Pannu has never been a fan of playing with wet woods - and the rain better suited John Hobbs who retained his Veterans title with a 21-13 win


The Presidents Shield

Stuart Logan,Ray Roberts,

Martin Joyce, Dave Bellingham

Stuart skipped his team to an emphatic win in this popular evening competition


The Atkins Cup

John Taylor

Although the numbers taking part in Spoons match was down this year, the competition was no less difficult to win, John Taylor and Gerry Davey had to play each other in the twentieth week of the league to establish who would be this year's Spoons champion. Pictured is RU Gerry Davey 


The Dave Evans Cup

Amrik Pannu, Emilio DiPietro,

Richard Pethick, Martin Ford

The league was played over 9 consecutive Monday evenings. Amrik Pannu's team timed their winning run perfectly and only topped the table by winning in the final series to take the title by 1 point. Pictured  accepting the trophy are Amrik and Emilio


Alan Messer

The Aggregate League is a new competition for 2016 introduced to allow more flexibility in the SCB competition rounds during the early part of the season. Alan Messer was the winner of this first running of the event.


Cash Competition

Keith Brinsmead & Nick Eager

Another new competition played in just one day and using a shortened format of the 2 Wood Pairs Game. An original entry of 12 teams was eventually whittled down to the winning pair, Keith Brinsmead and Nick Eager, who beat Matthew Smith and Mark Simmonds in an extra end play off

© 2021 TARRING PRIORY BOWLS  CLUB. Proudly created with Wix.com

Web Site Created November 2014

  • google-plus-square
  • Twitter Square
  • facebook-square